Click to Change

Return to Top

Return to Top

Printer Icon


The Blue Letter Bible

Hymns / Music :: The Hope Of The Ages

Choose a new font size and typeface

"They will see the Son of Man coming in a cloud with power and great glory." Luke 21:27

Hymns Supplied Through the Gracious Generosity
of the Cyber Hymnal Website

Words: Russell Kelso Carter (1849-1928).

Music: E. Grace Updegraff


Jesus comes, He comes in glory,
Echoes through the ages hoary
Blessèd hope and thrilling story,
Hallelujah! Jesus comes!


Hope of all the ages past,
King of kings, He comes at last.
Up, ye saints of God awaking!
See the morning light is breaking!
Hallelujah! Jesus comes!

Jesus comes, the dead are waking,
Earth with mortal pangs is quaking;
Stars are falling, heavens shaking,
Hallelujah! Jesus comes!


Jesus comes, in clouds descending,
Sins restraining, sorrow ending,
Broken ties forever mending,
Hallelujah! Jesus comes!


Jesus comes, all things restoring,
Cry aloud, His grace imploring,
Bow the knee, the King adoring,
Hallelujah! Jesus comes!


Information about the musical score and the Cyber Hymnal Website
BLB Searches
Search the Bible

Advanced Options

Other Searches

Multi-Verse Retrieval

Daily Devotionals

Blue Letter Bible offers several daily devotional readings in order to help you refocus on Christ and the Gospel of His peace and righteousness.

Daily Bible Reading Plans

Recognizing the value of consistent reflection upon the Word of God in order to refocus one's mind and heart upon Christ and His Gospel of peace, we provide several reading plans designed to cover the entire Bible in a year.

One-Year Plans

Two-Year Plan


The Blue Letter Bible ministry and the BLB Institute hold to the historical, conservative Christian faith, which includes a firm belief in the inerrancy of Scripture. Since the text and audio content provided by BLB represent a range of evangelical traditions, all of the ideas and principles conveyed in the resource materials are not necessarily affirmed, in total, by this ministry.